Opened in the 1810 to provide clean water to Dublin’s north side, the basin was officially named the Royal George Reservoir in honor of King George III. Water was piped two miles from County Westmeath along the Royal Canal, and in its day, the basin provided water to the Jameson and Power’s distilleries.
The park is 80% water and peaceful pedestrian paths and benches are relegated to the perimeter, which allows wildlife to outnumber people. The entire walled park was renovated in the mid-1990s and includes plantings, artwork and a bird sanctuary.
- Discover Ireland: Blessington Street Basin (Dublin’s Secret Garden)
- Dublin City Public Libary: Blessington Street Basin, Phibsborough
- Photo Credits: Corey Taratuta, Infomatique, Javier ie