The Castle which was destroyed by an accidental fire in 1826 is currently undergoing extensive internal restoration. This semi fortified Manor House currently has only the lower floors of the building accessible at this time. There are information boards and a video giving details of the history and former owners with close links to the then ruling British Royal family.
Far more history is available for those wishing to delve, but the latter owners of the Castle as mostly absentee landlords were not in line for prizes when it came to polarity.
The Walled Kitchen garden is fully functioning and also accessible. A pleasant place for a quiet stroll or sit down in the areas provided. Portumna Priory also stands within the range of the castle grounds although these are accessed off the marina road.
There was a new castle constructed after the fire located where the car park for the (publicly open) Forest park now sits. This new castle suffered the same fate as the former but not by accident as it was burned down in 1922 and the stone used to build St Bridget’s Church, completed in 1927.
Last visited as part of Heritage week in August of 2012 this is a regular point of interest for our visitors.
- Heritage Ireland: Official Website
- Wild Geese Heritage Museum and Library: Portumna Castle – It’s Story and a Story of Ireland