Ever wondered where the calendar and postcard photos of Clifden were taken from? Heading out of town and 3/4 mile along the Sky Road is a gated entry to Memorial Hill. Crowning the Hill is a simple memorial to John D’Arcy who founded the town around 1812.
Of course the memorial was first started shortly after his death in 1839 but unfortunately the money ran out and it was not until the 1990′s that the existing monument and plaque were finally placed.
It is not a difficult climb once through the gate, but the path, such as it is consists of turf over rock and good footwear is recommended.
- Discover Ireland: Sky Road Clifden